Get Published Weekly Roundup: August 28, 2017

Book Barcode By Thepwnco [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons. Change made: from color to black and white.
Welcome to another installment of our weekly round up. 54 years ago today Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. gave his "I Have a Dream" on the steps of the Lincoln Memorial in Washington, D.C. as part of the March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom, something to remember in the midst of our continued division and strife. Click here to see a full-length video of this speech. In this week's GSF Roundup we highlight agent hiring and promotion news, notices of approaching writing and submission deadlines, highlights from the past week's Manuscript Wishlist, and a few more #StraightFromAnAgent tidbits at the end.
 
We'd love to hear your feedback. Please let us know what you think in the comments and if there are certain types of information you would like to see in the Roundup. Also feel free to tweet at us (@freelancingrads) with any ideas or questions. Have a great writing week!

Agents: New Hires & Promotions

New Agency: Cullen Stanley International

Cullen Stanley and Stephanie Koven (both formerly from Janklow & Nesbit Associates) founded their own agency in 2017. 

Cullen Stanley is seeking:

Nonfiction: Narrative Nonfiction, historical Memoir, Biography, Mind-Body-Spirit, and books on art and design.

Fiction: "she likes novels with strong plot lines, inspirational stories and memorable characters."

Stephanie Koven is seeking:

Fiction: Narrative-driven fiction 

Nonfiction: Lifestyle & Health, Memoir, History, Popular Science, and Outdoor/Nature/Adventure titles.  

Cullen and Stephanie are accepting queries via email to submissions@cullenstanleyinternational.com.  Click here for the agency's submissions guidelines.

Submission Deadlines

Writers, you have between four and ten days:

Litro Magazine After Dark. After Hours.—Submissions due Friday, September 1st (Print magazine, publication)

What: Flash/micro fiction, short fiction, and nonfiction. 4,000-word maximum.

"An issue about what people get up to after dark, when they think no one’s watching, or what goes on after everything’s shut. Secrets and shady stuff, or things more magical: the store mannequins come to life, elves appear to do the shoemaker’s work…? You show us." 

To Submit: Submit via Submittable, here. For guidelines and more information, click here.

consīs 2017 Pith of Prose & Poem Contest—Submissions due Sunday, September 3rd (Poetry and Prose Contest—$$ Prize and Publication)

What: Poems, prose poems, visual poems, flash/sudden/quick fictions, micro-essays or other prose. No more than 250 words for prose, or 25 lines for poetry. Four cash prizes, all winners receive publication.

"We welcome new and hybrid forms."

To Submit: Submit via Submittable, here. For guidelines and other information, click here.

Brenda Drake #PitMad Twitter Pitch Contest—Submissions due Thursday, September 7th (Quarterly Event, Invitation to Submit to an Agent)

What: 140 character Twitter pitch of a completed manuscript. If an agent favorites your tweet, that's an invitation to submit!

"Please keep in mind, we never know what agents or publishers will be on the hashtag, so make sure you research each requesting agent or publisher."

To Submit: Get a Twitter account, yo. For more information and extensive guidelines, click here.

What Agents Want

Highlights from this week's #MSWL tweets...

Lauren Abramo, Agent at Dystel, Goderich & Bourret
Lauren is looking for some underrepresented voices: "Very eager for submissions from Native writers in Middle Grade & Young Adult fiction and adult fiction & non."  Source Tweet

Seeking: 

Fiction: Humorous MG & contemporary YA; Upmarket Commercial & well-paced Literary

Nonfiction: Pop Culture; Psychology; Pop Science; Reportage; Media; Contemporary Culture; with a strong focus on books about social justice

"In nonfiction she has a strong preference for interdisciplinary approaches, and in all categories she’s especially interested in underrepresented voices. "

How to submit: Lauren is accepting submissions via email at labramo@dystel.comClick here to read the full submissions guidelines on the company website.

Follow Lauren on Twitter @LaurenAbramo.

Alexandra Machinist, Agent at ICM Partners
Alexandra is soooooo meta. She tweeted "I always love and yearn for books about books." (source tweet) Her "favorite books about books are The Shadow of the Wind, 13th Tale, AJ Fikry, Weight of Ink and more! (source tweet) SO... "please, if you have a #BooksAboutBooks query me!" (source tweet)

Seeking:

Fiction: Commercial, Literary, Upmarket Women's, and Historical fiction, Suspense, Fantasy, Young adult, Middle grade

Select Nonfiction

"I am avidly looking for new talent, particularly in the areas of commercial women's fiction, suspense, high-concept young adult fiction, and anything and everything that keeps me up all night reading." 

How to submit: Alexandra is accepting submissions via email at amachinist@icmpartners.comClick here and scroll to the bottom of her Publisher's Marketplace membership page to read the full submissions guidelines.

Follow Alexandra on Twitter @amachinist

Alyssa Jennette, Agent at Stonesong
In anticipation of being open to queries in a couple of days (she is closed for queries during the month of August), Alyssa tweeted that she's interested in a solar-eclipse themed book project: "Someone gets blinded by the eclipse but now they have superpowers/visions/etc." Source Tweet 

Beginning in September Alyssa is seeking:

Fiction: Graphic Novels, Picture Books, Middle Grade & Young Adult (especially magical realism or urban fantasy, secret societies, and unreliable narrators), and Adult Fiction (literary fiction full of wit and wordplay that may border on the absurd/surreal (bonus if it includes footnotes), smart psychological or supernatural Suspense/Mystery/Horror, or beautifully crafted historical fantasy in the vein of JONATHAN STRANGE & MR. NORRELL.)

Non-fiction: Humor, Pop Culture

Not looking for: Historical Fiction, Romance, or Women’s Fiction

"She values diversity, ensemble casts with distinct voices, and formats that are specific to the story and give it its own context."

How to submit: Beginning in September, Alyssa will be accepting queries via email at submissions@stonesong.com. Click here for submissions guidelines on the company website.
 
Follow Alyssa on Twitter .

Ejusdem Generis - #StraightFromAnAgent

Here is a great Query Check list video by Agent Meg LaTorre-Snyder. Make sure to check out the links she included below the video on YouTube. You can subscribe to her iWriterly videos on YouTube by clicking here.


Grad Student Freelancers (GSF) is dedicated to helping authors take care of the details of the publication process. Part of the process includes sifting through huge amounts of information to find important news, events, and tips that can give you an edge in the publication process. Every week GSF will provide three lists of curated information focused on helping writers get published. Our goal is to gather what's important from the web in the past week, so you can focus more on your writing.  
Posted in Weekly Roundup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Leave a Reply