Get Published Weekly Roundup: March 12th, 2018

Book Barcode By Thepwnco [CC BY-SA 3.0 (], via Wikimedia Commons. Change made: from color to black and white.

It's both rained and snowed today, pretty much par for the course in early spring in Charlottesville. I have no doubt it will probably be sunny and eighty degrees tomorrow, with snow again on Saturday. Speaking of Saturday, an early Éirinn go Brách to all y'all. We hope you're all able to enjoy a stout or two in a quiet pub somewhere. Or get beer spilled on your shoes by overenthusiastic twentysomethings, which is much more likely, if that's your thing. This week we've got some agency news, a great submission possibility if you're into arid places, some MSWL highlights, and an organizational ethnographer (that's a thing? I didn't know that was a thing) at the end.

We'd love to hear your feedback. Please let us know what you think in the comments and if there are certain types of information you would like to see in the Roundup. Also feel free to tweet at us (@freelancingrads) with any ideas or questions. Have a great writing week!

Agent and Agency News

Looking for an agent who specializes in nonfiction? Here are two new hires seeking clients like you

Leslie Meredith has joined Mary Evans, Inc. as an agent.


Nonfiction: Memoir; Science; Psychology; Health; Nature/Animals; Spirituality/New Age

Leslie is accepting queries via email at, or by post at 242 East Fifth Street, New York, NY 10003. More information on submission guidelines may be found here.

Allison Janice has joined Serendipity Literary Agency as an associate agent.


Fiction: Romance; Mystery; Select Women’s Fiction 

Nonfiction: Cooking/Nutrition; Health and Wellness; Self-Help; Memoir; Humor; Psychology; History; Science

"In her new role as an agent at Serendipity, she aims to work with a range of nonfiction clients on the topics of cooking, nutrition, health and wellness, self-help, memoir, humor, psychology, history, and science, particularly in the areas of body-positivity, veganism, and environmentalism. She is also open to fiction in the area of romance and mystery, as well as the odd women’s fiction title. Push the boundaries of your genre and use your voice for good!"

Allison is accepting submissions via email at For more information on the agency's submission guidelines, see here for fiction and here for non-fiction.

Submission Deadlines

More nonfiction and some non-nonfiction: A $$$ prize and residency for desert nonfiction, and a grant for spec. lit. writers aged 50+

Writing Ranch Waterston Desert Writing Prize—Submission window: January 1st to April 1st, 2018 (non-fiction proposal contest, $$$ prize + residency)

What: Nonfiction proposals about deserts and their importance (that's deserts, not desserts, y'all). Submission material includes a biographical statement, project proposal, and writing sample. Writers in all career stages are invited to apply. Winner receives $2000 cash, a reading and reception at the High Desert Museum in Bend, Oregon, and a four-week residency at PLAYA at Summer Lake, Oregon.

Cost: Free

"Now starting its fourth year, the Prize annually honors literary nonfiction that illustrates artistic excellence, sensitivity to place, and desert literacy - with the desert as both subject and setting. Inspired by author and poet Ellen Waterston's love of the high desert of Central Oregon, a region that has been her muse for more than 30 years, the Prize recognizes the vital role deserts play worldwide in the ecosystem and human narrative."

To Submit: More information on the contest as well as rules and guidelines may be found here. If you are ready to apply, an online submission form is available here.

Speculative Literature Foundation Older Writers Grant—Submissions due by March 31st, 2018 (grant application contest)

Who: Authors aged 50+ at the time of application who are just beginning work at a professional level in the area of speculative literature (think fantasy/sci-fi and more—a definition is provided below).

What: A short autobiographical statement, a writing sample (up to 10 pages of poetry, 10 pages of drama, or 5,000 words of fiction or creative nonfiction), and a bibliography of previously-published work by the author if available (applicants do not need to have previous publications to apply). Two winners will receive $500 grants each, to be used at their discretion.

Cost: Free

"Speculative literature is a catch-all term meant to inclusively span the breadth of fantastic literature, encompassing literature ranging from hard science fiction to epic fantasy to ghost stories to horror to folk and fairy tales to slipstream to magical realism to modern myth-making — and more. Any piece of literature containing a fabulist or speculative element would fall under our aegis, and would potentially be work that we would be interested in supporting."

To Submit: Contest details may be found here. Submissions should be emailed to

What Agents Want

#MSWL Highlights: Mumps, black women in WWII, and Michael Bourret wants you to question EVERYTHING

Sharon Pelletier, Agent at Dystel, Goderich, & Bourret
Sharon wants to see this CNN headline in book form: "More than 25,000 people who were at a national cheerleading competition in Texas are being warned to check for symptoms of mumps." Source Tweet


Fiction: Mostly Upmarket/Bookclub

               Nonfiction: Narrative Nonfiction; Society/Pop Culture; Women's Issues; Religion

"While her interests are broad, Sharon is especially seeking upmarket fiction, including unexpected suspense fiction; smart, complex women’s fiction; and hearty, unforgettable book club fiction. On the nonfiction side Sharon is eager for compelling, fierce narrative nonfiction by journalists and experts, and emerging voices with a growing platform who can speak to pop culture, feminism, sports, social justice, and/or religion."

How to submit: Sharon is accepting submissions via email at Click here for more information on the agency's submission policies.

You can follow her on Twitter @sharongracepjs.

Natascha Morris, Agent at BookEnds Literary Agency
Natascha retweets @KiraJW with #MSWL: "Dear Hollywood: If you insist on making 13 movies about World War II every year, you need to make a movie about black women's role in the war. Thanks." Source Tweet


Fiction: Picture Books (including illustrators); Middle Grade and Young Adult fiction across genres

Nonfiction:  None

"Stories about first generation immigrants are especially welcome, since she is a first generation . . . Natascha would love to see more fantasies (a major love), more thrillers in the vein of Mindy McGinnis’s The Female of the Species and This Darkness Mine, and more historical fiction that spotlight hidden figures and time periods. For middle grade, she is looking for historical fiction, fantasy, and quirky books (as in The Mortification of Fovea Munson).  Natascha is also open to illustrators. With illustrators, she is mostly drawn to bright colors, and lush settings."

How to submit: Natascha is accepting queries via online form, here. Click here for all submission info on the agency's website.

Follow Natascha on Twitter @SoCalledYALife.

Michael Bourret, Agent at Dystel, Goderich, & Bourret
Last but not least, "for the millionth time" Michael's #MSWL request is: "Smash the patriarchy, deconstruct toxic masculinity, destroy white supremacy, question capitalism/heteronormativity/EVERYTHING." Got it? Ready, go! Source Tweet


Fiction: Children's; Middle Grades; YA; Thrillers; Women’s Fiction

Nonfiction: Memoir; Science/Technology; Politics

"My tastes are quite broad . . . Really, I just want to read something that moves me, that I connect with on an intellectual, emotional or spiritual level—anything that makes me feel the way I did reading with my mom as a child."

How to submit: Michael is accepting queries via email at Click here for more information on the agency's submission policies.

Follow Michael on Twitter @MichaelBourret.

Ejusdem Generis

While self-publishing and ebooks have become incredibly important for authors as ways to both reach readers and generate income, we shouldn't forget where many of us fell in love with all things written: the independent bookstore. Over at LitHub this week you can find an interview with a Harvard organizational ethnographer who has been studying independent bookstores. His fascination with them began when he read that the membership in the American Booksellers Association actually increased beginning in 2009, in spite of all the talk about the death of print. Check it out here, especially if there is or was a special store in your life (shout-out to A Novel Idea!).

Grad Student Freelancers (GSF) is dedicated to helping authors take care of the details of the publication process. Part of the process includes sifting through huge amounts of information to find important news, events, and tips that can give you an edge in the publication process. Every week GSF will provide three lists of curated information focused on helping writers get published. Our goal is to gather what's important from the web in the past week, so you can focus more on your writing.  
Posted in Weekly Roundup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Leave a Reply