Get Published Weekly Roundup: November 13, 2017

Book Barcode By Thepwnco [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons. Change made: from color to black and white.
Hey there, loyal readers! In this week's roundup we cover agent & agency news, submission deadlines, Manuscript Wishlist highlights, and nothing at the end because our website erased it.
 
We'd love to hear your feedback. Please let us know what you think in the comments and if there are certain types of information you would like to see in the Roundup. Also feel free to tweet at us (@freelancingrads) with any ideas or questions. Have a great writing week!

Agent and Agency News

One Promotion and One Move

Kim-Mei Kirtland has been promoted to Literary Agent at the Howard Morhaim Literary Agency.

Seeking:

Fiction: Speculative; Literary; Hard Science Fiction; Second World Fantasy; Space Opera; Magical Realism; Fabulism; Urban Fantasy; Young Adult; select Middle Grade

Nonfiction: History; Biography; Pop Science; Food and Travel writing

Kim-Mei is accepting queries via email at kimmei@morhaimliterary.com. For submission guidelines, click here.

Alia Hanna Habib has joined the Gernert Company as a Literary Agent

Seeking:

Fiction: Literary

Nonfiction: Narrative; Culinary

Alia is accepting queries via email at info@thegernertco.com.  Click here for submission guidelines.

Submission Deadlines

Writers, you've got until Wednesday, next Thursday, and next Saturday...

TravelFave Travel Misadventure Madness—Submissions due Wednesday, November 15 (Contest - Gift Card)

What: A travel misadventure story—must be true—in fewer than 500 words. Winner receives a $75 Visa or Amazon card, plus publication on the site.

To Submit: Submit via online form and find rules and guidelines here.

We know that we posted it last week, but this one is worth a reminder:
V International Flash Fiction Competition: Sponsored by César Egido Serrano Foundation—Submissions due Thursday, November 23 (Flash Fiction, $$BIG$$)

What: 100 words micro-fiction, original and unpublished in Spanish, English, Arabic, or Hebrew from any country. No restrictions on subject or genre.

Entry Fee: $0

Prizes: Winner: $20,000 (USD), 3 runners-up and each one gets $1000

"Keeping in mind the Foundation´s ethos, which is that the word is the tool of coexistence between different cultures, religions and ideologies, the V Edition of competition is open, under the motto: The Word, bridging the gap between different cultures and religions.”

To Submit: Submission online, here. For details, see here and here.

Hopewell Publications Gover Story Prize—Submissions due Saturday, November 25 (Triannual Fiction Contest-Publication)

What: Unpublished fiction of fewer than 10,000 words. Finalists and winner receive publication in Best New Writing.

"Former BNW Editor Robert Gover grew up in an endowed orphanage (Girard College in Philadelphia), worked as a journalist, and became a best-selling novelist at age 30. His first novel, One Hundred Dollar Misunderstanding, a satire on American racism, remains a cult classic and was among the prime books exposuring the sexual, racial, and linguistic hypocrisy which governed the USA in the mid-20th century."

To Submit: Submit via Submittable, here. For more information, click here.

What Agents Want

Agents who #MSWL, AND are actually open to queries!

Pam Victorio, agent at D4EO Literary Agency
Pam wants some fiction from the Eastern Hemisphere: "Gimme all your books that read like a Korean drama in any genre please. Any and all Asian lit especially Filipino." Source Tweet

Seeking:

Fiction: Kinda looks like all sorts

Nonfiction: ?

"She has a passion for genre fiction as well as children's lit."

How to submit: Pam is accepting submissions via QueryManager here

Follow Pam on Twitter @NerdyPam.

Alec Shane, Junior Agent at Writers House
Alec is looking for The Things They Carried, or Carrier, or any of the myriad experiences veterans might want to share: "All the thanks I could ever give to the men and women who serve and have served. If you have a story to tell, please keep me in mind for all things military." Source Tweet

Seeking:

Fiction: Mystery; Thriller; Adventure; Horror; Historical; Middle Grade

Nonfiction: History; Military History; Humor; Biography; Sports

How to submit: Alec is accepting queries via email at ashane@writershouse.comClick here to read his submission guidelines.

Follow Alec on Twitter @alecdshane.

Samantha Wekstein, also a Writers House
Samantha's getting apophatic (I feel like this is an inevitable development for agents): "Story elements I DON'T want: Drug addiction, hard-boiled cops/detectives, divorce, adult thrillers, business tycoons, historical nonfiction, memoir, angels, devils, heaven, hell, biblical retellings, adult literary anything, picture books without illustrations." Source Tweet  

Seeking:

Adult Fiction: Historical; Romance; Women's; Fantasy; Science Fiction; Young Adult; Middle Grade; Picture Books (they better have pictures. She's pretty insistent on that point.)

Nonfiction: Humor; Pop Culture

"My passion is YA fiction. I love creative and epic fantasies in the vein of Sarah J. Maas or Leigh Bardugo. But I am also drawn to contemporary YA with multi-dimensional female characters like those of Rainbow Rowell, Julie Murphy and Melina Marchetta."

How to submit: Samantha is accepting submissions at via email at swekstein@writershouse.comClick here for her submission guidelines.

Follow Samantha on Twitter @SWekstein.

Ejusdem Generis

This week, we're not presenting anything at all, because our website keeps erasing it. Maybe next week.


Grad Student Freelancers (GSF) is dedicated to helping authors take care of the details of the publication process. Part of the process includes sifting through huge amounts of information to find important news, events, and tips that can give you an edge in the publication process. Every week GSF will provide three lists of curated information focused on helping writers get published. Our goal is to gather what's important from the web in the past week, so you can focus more on your writing.  
Posted in Weekly Roundup and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Leave a Reply